More Suminagashi

Ripples in a Dream

Ripples in a Dream

 

Ripples in a Dream II

Ripples in a Dream II

Suminagashi on canvas has proven to be quite a challenge. Issues with paint adherence on the canvas, too much or too little surfactant, and the right viscosity of the size has taken some research, trial and error, basic chemistry, and perseverance. The process has been fun (my three year old and I had a blast playing in a big pool of jelly), and I believe the end result is worth it – unique, one of a kind abstracts. This is my most recent Suminagashi painting on 18×24″ canvas. After I originally posted the painting I went back and deepened the color on some parts of the painting, and it now looks more the way I imagined it. I wanted it to convey the action of trying to remember a dream…or contrarily, the act of forgetting one, and then vainly trying to remember it.

Leave a Reply

