Suminagashi

Hello everyone! I am finally back to blogging after a long summer hiatus! I hope everyone had a wonderful summer. Now that it is Autumn, my kids are back at school and we now have some semblance of a routine. This week, I explored the fascinating world of suminagashi, which means “floating ink” – the Japanese art of paper marbling. I adapted it for my large canvases, preferring those to small pieces of paper. I used a large baby pool to hold the “size” or medium on which to float the inks. Instead of inks I mixed acrylic paints. After much trial and error, I got 7 canvases marbled to my satisfaction, which will form the basis of some abstract paintings. They remind me of Pap smears and bacteria stained with Gram’s stain from my science lab days…I can’t wait to show you all my finished paintings. I’m hooked on suminagashi!

Leave a Reply

