Chicken Drumsticks Milanese

Since I haven’t posted about food for a while, I thought I’d post this recipe. It is one of our family favorites, and is based on Giada De Laurentis’s Pork Milanese recipe. It’s pretty much Italian Shake ‘n Bake from scratch, but Chicken Milanese sounds so much better! I add a couple of tablespoons of ground flax seed, and use whole wheat breadcrumbs. She serves her pork with lemon wedges. I serve my chicken with sweet chili sauce. It’s so easy, and a must try! Make sure you double this recipe so it covers an entire family tray of chicken drums.

Chicken Drumsticks Milanese

1/3 cup whole wheat, or whole spelt flour
2 large eggs beaten (the eggs needn’t be doubled when doubling the recipe)
1 1/4 cups whole wheat bread crumbs
2/3 c grated Parmesan cheese
2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried thyme
Sometimes I add some smoked paprika
Salt,pepper

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or foil sprayed with Pam.

(You’ll notice in my picture above, I didn’t dredge the chicken drums in flour. You can take or leave the flour, to be honest, but I kept it in the recipe for the sake of completeness).

Place the flour in a pyrex or ceramic pie pan (I’ve found it’s the perfect place to dredge chicken with minimal spills). Beat the eggs and a splash of milk in another pie pan. Place the bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, basil. Thyme, paprika, salt and pepper in a third pie pan, mix to combine.

Working with one drumstick at a time, dredge in flour, then eggs, and then breadcrumbs, and place in single layer on baking sheet.

Bake for about 50-60 minutes, make sure the chicken is cooked to the bone, and the outside is golden and crisp.

Serve with sweet chili sauce. I make a fifty-fifty mixture of white and brown rice, as well as a big platter of steamed veggies to make a complete and delicious meal.

Leave a Reply

