Chick-pea Chocolate Chip Cookies

One last post before Father’s Day weekend! I made these cookies for a treat today to cheer up my sick kiddies. It worked like a charm, by the way! Grins from ear to ear, and suddenly healthy appetites. There’s nothing better than freshly baked cookies and milk, other than, perhaps homemade chicken soup. These cookies are from Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious cookbook. I do change up the recipe a bit, using real butter instead of margarine, and two whole eggs instead of just egg whites. I don’t make sweets for the kids very often, so real butter and whole eggs once in a while will definitely not hurt them! I also purée the chick peas (garbanzo beans) before adding them into the batter, pictured above in my mixer. As always, I vary my flours depending on what I have on hand, today I used whole organic spelt flour, sometimes I use a fifty-fifty mix of whole wheat and barley flour. I love sliced almonds, and often switch the must for the walnuts. These cookies are wonderful, with the addition of fiber, protein and iron from the beans. I’ve also used puréed black beans, pinto beans, navy beans, actually any beans will work in this recipe. Just make sure to rinse and drain them first! I also omit the salt.

Chick-Pea Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 cup butter
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1, 19 oz can rinsed, drained and puréed chick peas
2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
3/4 cup walnuts or sliced almonds)
3/4 cup raisins
2 cups whole wheat, or whole spelt flour
1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray cookie sheets with non stick spray,or use parchment paper.

In bowl of mixer, beat sugar and butter until fluffy.
Add eggs, pureed chick peas and vanilla.
Add flour, oats, baking soda, chocolate chips, and nuts.
Drop onto baking sheets using a rounded teaspoon of batter, about 1.5 inches apart.

Bake about 15 minutes or until golden brown. Do not over bake.
Cool on rack. Makes about 46 cookies depending on size.

Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Chick-pea Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Andrea says:

    These sound delicious, I am going to try them today! Hope the kidlets are on the mend 🙂

  2. Anonymous says:

    Amazing how fluffy these cookie turn out! The kids love them!

Leave a Reply

