Ezekiel Inspired Bread for the Bread Machine

So I’ve been experimenting with different ways to make Ezekiel inspired bread in my bread machine. Everyone has seen or heard of the TV show, “The Biggest Loser” and Ezekiel Bread was made famous by their endorsement that it was a high fiber, high protein bread. I live in a small town, and we don’t have their brand of commercial Ezekiel bread available at our local store. So I set about making my own at home.

Given that I am a very busy, and active mom of two young children, I don’t have time or energy to spend making it the traditional way. I found a recipe on the “Hillbilly Housewife” website, and experimented with it, using different beans, like black beans, garbanzo beans, pinto beans, navy beans, and lentils. I also switch up the different organic flours that I use, namely, spelt, buckwheat, barley, coconut, almond, rice, and regular whole wheat. As you can see by the pictures, some loaves rose better than others – due to the amount of gluten in the flours. The recipe calls for vital gluten, and I do replace it occasionally with one beaten egg, but only when I am using spelt and wheat, or barley and wheat, because there is enough gluten in those flours to make the bread rise, at least moderately.

The low carb coconut loaf was not very good, and I found the buckwheat loaf to be the same, even when I split the mixture 50/50 with whole wheat flour, and added vital gluten. I guess it’s that gluten that makes the bread so fluffy and delicious. Although I don’t have a gluten allergy or sensitivity, I thought it would be good to decrease my family’s consumption of gluten.

Ezekiel Inspired Bread for the Bread Machine

1 cup Water
1/4 cup Black Beans – (or any of your favorite beans cooked, drained and pureed)
1/4 cup Lentils – (cooked, drained and puréed)
1 1/2 tablespoons Olive Oil
1 1/2 tablespoons Honey
3/4 teaspoon Salt
2 cups Bread Flour
1/2 cup Barley Flour (or spelt, wheat, or rice flour)
1/2 cup Millet Flour
2 tablespoons vital gluten ( you can replace this with one egg beaten, added to your wet ingredients layer, but make sure you are using a higher gluten flour – sorry to those who have a gluten allergy, this loaf may not work for you)
1 1/2 teaspoons Yeast
Layer the ingredients in the order listed in your bread maker. Bake on the basic cycle setting.

Enjoy!

PS: the texture of this bread may take some getting used to, I found it to be more cake like than bread like. But my kids both love it, and the fact that it is conveniently made in my bread machines an added bonus!

Leave a Reply

